Mdonya Old River Reviews

 

Jan 2018

Thank you so much for your great hospitality!! Hope to come back.

Gerhard and Renati,  08.01.18

 

Wonderful experiences in a beautiful camp and park. Excellent food. Our close encounter with the leopard Moyo was our highlight.

Michael and Cecilia, 20.01.18

 

We had the most marvellous 4 days at Mdonya. Thank you to Rebecca, Andrea and all the wonderful animals of Ruaha. And a special thanks to the fine staff. Love from

Vibeke and Susanne, 22.01.18

 

Thank you so much for this great adventure again. Thanks to the whole team of the camp and to Kahimba and Henry. Hope to see you all again.

Jessy and Markus, 24.01.18

 

Dec 2017

It was our first safari and so much better than we even hoped for. From the exceptionally nice people to the incredible animal sightings to the wonderful tents and scenery in the camp. Everything was perfect. We will come back! Thank you so much.

Christine and Olaf, 06.12.17

 

We returned to Old Mdonya having thoroughly enjoyed a trip last year. This visit was even better for the variety of our wildlife sightings and the camp staff were great as usual. Won’t be our last time here for sure 😊

Peter and Hillary, 07.12.17

 

What a magical place you have here. I must arrange a Christmas trip one year! Many thanks to all the marvellous staff.

John, 07.12.17

 

Thank you for such an amazing safari experience! You are all such kind and welcoming people and the animals are too! 😊 The accommodation and service you provide are top-notch! Keep it up! I hope to return in the future and will definitely tell everyone about my time here. All the best to you all.

Jessica, 10.12.17

 

Nov 2017

Was here for my birthday and was one of the greatest and memorable experiences of my lifetime. The vibrancy of the park was as lovely as the warmth of the people running the camp. Thank you and we shall return very soon.

Rajat and Pusui, 4th Nov 2017

 

Lovely camp with all the comforts of home in a rustic flare!! The staff were friendly, helpful and very much appreciated. The food was yum!! Thanks so much for a lovely holiday and we will spread the word.

Wendy, 7th Nov 2017

 

Asante sana rafikis for making my time in Africa -Tanzania – Ruaha truly memorable. I greatly appreciate the level of service and it is clear everyone loves being a part of the team at Mdonya Old River Camp.

Susan, 17th Nov 2017

 

Thanks for a nice and wonderful stay here. Especially the lions in the night. The good food and the lovely and nice people. A place to be. To eat under the stars is a well done moment. The masai guards are also very kind and helpful. I will recommend the camp to a lot of other people.

Hein, 22nd Nov 2017


 

Oct 2017

Absolutely amazing experience. As soon as I got here I texted everyone I knew to absolutely come and do a safari in Ruaha and stay here! Thank you for your amazing lodge services. Big up to Hassan and Edmund, best duo ever!

Tina and Tania 05.10.17

 

A well-meant thank you for the warm hospitality we enjoyed in this camp. And the wonderful park with flora and fauna that you hardly see anywhere else, so complete, is something we will never forget. We had a beautiful stay and will recommend this nice experience by telling friends and family about it.

Eric and Linda, 08.10.17

 

Dear crew of Mdonya,

Thank you for all your efforts to make it such a magnificent stay. We really enjoyed this amazing bush experience and will never forget our time in the bathroom with the elephants! Thanks again for letting us have dinner in the old river bed, it was one of the most exciting and romantic evenings of our life! Hope to see you again one day!

Jannick and Charlotte, 13.10.17

 

A great experience. Quite apart from the game drives, the view from tent zero was always interesting! The staff were all friendly and helpful and Rebecca and Andrea excellent and informative hosts. Thanks for a memorable stay.

Richard and Jackie, 15.10.17

 

 Wonderful four nights stay with memorable game drives, attentive staff, excellent food, knowledgeable guide and a very good driver – what more could one want! We have stayed once before in Ruaha and this stay was far better. We will certainly recommend this camp. Thank you so much to our hosts Rebecca and Andrea.

Richard and Sue, 19.10.17

 

Sept 2017

Thank you for a second wonderful stay of 5 nights (in tent zero). Andrea and Rebecca and all the other staff looked after us superbly. Guide Dismas and driver Thomas provided an excellent service and we enjoyed our discussions on deciding some of the bird species. We saw a  total of 103 Bird Species (including the “new Ruaha Chat” in Acacia Trees beside the Ruaha River) besides wonderful Elephants and of course lions but the “star cat” had to be two leopards, the first on the arrival drive from the airstrip. We shall return yet again.

Cathlyn and Simon, 14/09/17

 

Many thank for a wonderful 3 days at your very friendly and welcoming camp! We enjoyed it. Kindest regards,

Don and Julie 15/09/17

 

Rebecca and Andrea and all the staff at the camp, we have had a magical experience. Thank you for your warm hospitality. I would not hesitate to recommend the camp. Warm wishes,

Janet and Zoe, 18/09/17

 

To all at Mdonya,

You are a wonderful camp, and we had a very special time. Having it all to ourselves was something else! You are all so friendly and welcoming and I include the elephants and other camp herbivores. Terrific guide, so knowledgeable and happy to answer all our stupid questions.  Above all the game viewing was superlative. So many elephants, impala and giraffe, lots of kudu, lions and even leopards, what more could two old safari regulars ask for. Thanks for everything and keep this lovely place going.

Terri and Keith, 21.09.17

 

Aug 2017

Thank you for a wonderful stay. We have had the best time and feel sad to leave. Everyone of the team is professional, kind and very helpful and we must particularly thank our guide and driver Henry and Chele who are so knowledgeable and made our experience.  The camp is stunning and the wild animals passing through aren’t at all disturbed by our presence. It’s all been an excellent experience so thank you to you all. Best wishes and we hope to see you again.

Mrs and Mr Duckworth, 29.07.17

 

We have had a wonderful stay here at Mdonya and many thanks to Andrea, Rebecca and the house team for looking after us so well. The safari experiences were tremendous thanks to the guidance of Hassan and Edmund our guide and driver. The icing on the cake being the dramatic change of males in one of the lion prides – very exciting!!

Roger, Margaret, Peter, Helen, Toby  and Lucy, 07.08.17

 

A wonderful part of the magic Ruaha – thank you for a relaxing and entertaining stay. I will keep the ring-necked dove’s call to ‘work harder’ in my ears.

Natalie, 11.08.17

 

We had a really lovely 3 days in Ruaha and in the camp! It was quite a new experience for us to stay in nature of such beauty. We saw a lot of animals we had never seen before and it was so beautiful! Thanks a lot for your hospitality. We are really sad to leave this place. But think we will be back. This is just the start because we really love to go on more safaris! Thanks again and maybe until next time. P.S. The service was really good! Keep up the good work.

Remy and Sarah, 23.08.17

 

July 2017

We have had a truly magical experience at this lovely camp. The game viewing has been spectacular, the atmosphere warm and welcoming and the food delicious. Many thanks to all the staff for making this a trip which will stay long in the memory. We hope to visit again.

The Chalk family, 02.07.17

 

Incredible stay in our favourite camp in Tanzania. Professional, courteous and polite. The perfect balance of nature and comfort. Do not change a thing. All the best in future success. We hope to return one day..

Mark, Heather, Seth and Conor, 03.07.17

 

We don’t like Mdonya – we love it! Thank you very much for the great time, it was fantastic. When we visit Tanzania a second time, we will join the camp again. Vielen Dank! Thank you very much! Grazie!

Max and Alex, 06.07.17

 

Dearest Mdonya Staff,

Thank you very much for this amazing experience!! Everything was absolutely perfect. From the service and kindness of all the staff, to the wonderful food, to the experience and knowledge of our wonderful Henry and Thomas. Just all so warm and kind, we really felt welcome!! We really hope to that we will one day be able to come again! And we will for sure recommend this great camp to our family and friends! Thank you very much!! Warm regards,

Inge, Cardmi, Stef and David, 16.07.17

 

Thank you to everyone at Mdonya for making our stay so special! We saw leopard cubs and lions mating – the Tanzanian wildlife is amazing and full of surprises. Our guides were fantastic as well as the helpful staff at camp. We loved the hot water bottles in bed!

Sarah, Andrew and Catherine, 23.07.17

 

June 2017

Our visit has been an experience of a lifetime. This is the Africa we came to see. What makes this place special are the exceptional hospitality and the food – totally unexpected. Thank you so much for the most memorable stop of our African journey. This destination is a must for any new visitor to Africa.

Meg and Carol, 04.06.17

 

Dear Rebecca & Andrea, and all your wonderful team.

Thank you all for your hospitality at Mdonya. It’s been an experience we will never forget, maybe one day we will return and meet with you again. Your dedication to conservation is remarkable and attention to visitors need goes without question. Keep up the good work.

Erik and Mel, 14.06.17

 

To all at Ruaha,

A wonderful, beautiful place with memories that will linger in our hearts for always. Magical moments, have fallen in love with Africa. Take care of this place it is one in a million that hopefully will continue to bring tears of joy to many others. With love,

Julia and Lawrence, 17.06.17

 

Our stay at Mdonya Old River Camp could not have been more enjoyable thanks to the enthusiasm, passion and knowledge of Andrea and Rebecca and all the team. It has been a memorable experience and the trip of a lifetime for my daughter Astrea. We hope to be back soon!

Amanda and Astrea, 18.06.17

 

Dear Rebecca and Andrea,

Our stay at the Mdonya Old River Camp has been an adventure we will never forget. All the sights and sounds of the bush right outside our tent. Your dedication to conservation and providing the true African Safari experience is exceptional! Thank you to you and your caring team (drivers, guides, waiters, chefs and maasai) for your time, knowledge, dedication and kindness to ensure our stay was truly memorable.  A special thanks to our driver Godson and guide Henry whose passion and skill made each excursion special. Asante sana, thank you very much. We hope to return one day.

Ginny and Nick, 21.06.17

 

Feb 2017

No! Paradise is not lost…. We found a new Eden! Informal, harmonious, friendly.

Bernadette and François, 02.02.17

 

Dear Rebecca and Team, thank you for that great experience! The lodge is extraordinary, lots of little details with love. We have had a good time, the safari was awesome.

Sarah and Gali, 04.02.17

 

Thank you for a wonderful experience. Great park (the best we have been in Tanzania so far) and phenomenal guides. Camp and hospitality were very welcoming. We loved the stories around dinner table and camp fire! Thank you and we’ll buzz the word around in Dar!

Helene and Helene, 10.02.17

 

We had such a wonderful and special stay. We enjoyed every minute of our drives with the most helpful guide and skilful driver. We hope to come back and see our trainee guide in action some day. I slept better than I have in months with the animal sounds and stars. Nothing will beat waking to a visit by an elephant. Thanks for everything.

Susan and Sinead, 15.02.17

 

Thank you so much for the most amazing stay. Delightful staff and the game is brilliant. Wonderful knowledgeable guides. We will be back.

Nicky and Stephen

 

Jan 2017

Stunning three day visit, enjoyed by the Pottinger family. Exceeded all our expectations with lots of game, great guiding and explanations of the game and surroundings. Good food and company contributed to the perfect visit.

Steve, Carol, Ross, Laura and Natasha, 01.01.17

 

Words cannot do it justice but this experience has been absolutely wonderful. The camp, the staff, everything.  I am very lucky and grateful to have spent the last few days here. I will cherish these memories for years to come.

Michael, 02.01.17

 

The experience I had here was incredible and unlike any other. Going on safari was something I’ll never forget. The service and attention to detail by all the staff here is amazing. Our guide, Jumanne, had an immense knowledge about zoology, the plants and animals in the park, and the history of the area. It was very interesting to listen to and I learned a lot from both him and the camp staff. Thank you for all the memories and the wonderful  stay.

Marissa, 02.01.17

 

Thank you for a wonderful time. Great show! Wonderful food! The guides were excellent!!!

Aleksandra and Marco, 07.01.17

 

What a wonderful wonderful experience. Had the most amazing time. Everyone so friendly and helpful and so knowledgable!! Thank you.

Sally and Fletcher, 23.01.17

 

Dec 2016

Thank you so much for your hospitality and great service. It was indeed an unforgettable experience to stay in Mdonya camp!

Martina and Markida, 11.12.16

 

Everything Ð every detail Ð exceeded our expectations. The accommodations were peaceful and luxurious, the meals delicious, and the game drives were amazing, fun and educational. Your hospitality is top-notch. We will recommend you. Hapa ni pazuri sana. Ahsante sana!

David and Janet, 19.12.16

 

Thanks to everyone for making our first ever safari so special. Our thanks especially go to the best guides: Henry and Kahimba (Simba) who were such amazing spotters. We hope to come back here again!

Jo, Bill, Katya  and Alexia, 20.12.16

 

Andrea, Rebecca and staff (especially Hassan and Ayoub),

Thank you for a wonderful experience. Your company and expertise in hospitality was very much appreciated. The animals, birds and plants and stars may be the attractions of Ruaha, but the people have been the highlight of my visit. Thank again,

Michael, 22.12.16

 

Nov 2016

Thank you for a great safari experience. Great camp and great staff. We had a wonderful time.

Ann and Malcolm, 08.11.2016

 

We have had just the most amazing time here! Thank you to all the staff + our guide Hassan and driver Edmund for showing us amazing sights and animals.

Judy and Ian, 09.11.2016

 

I will always remember this pleasant stay. You provided me with the Òstay of my lifeÓ and unforgettable memories. Thank you very much all the staff of Mdonya!

Jutta, 12.11.2016

 

I love this first safari experience and this camp in Ruaha is great thanks to Rebecca and Andrea. Our guide Hassan and driver Ayoubu were great with great experience and kindness. Thank you to everybody for our 4 dayÕs stay.

Elizabeth, 17.11.2016

 

It was really wonderful stay here and an unforgettable experience. Especially the giraffe which walked right in front of our tent in the middle of the night.

Tom and Market, 19.11.2016

 

Sept 2016

I am leaving this place after 3 days but my heart is remaining here in this place so far from the rest of the world. Magic and precious. Thank you all, youÕve been special to me.

Sara, 04.09.16

 

This camp offers us true sense of wildness and the peace and quiet that we only get in Africa. Thank you to all the team for natural hospitality and kindness. Our guides have been more than exceptional and fixed our passion for everything that moved! We leave with a heavy heart and hope to return. Keep up the good work on making sure we all understand the work and consciousness required to protect remaining environments and species.

Jo and Paul, 07.09.16

 

Ein wirklich tolles camp! Das Essen ist ein absolutes highlight. Wir haben alle Tiere, die wir uns gewunscht haben, auch abs Baby gesehen. Weil unsere Guides Profis sind. Thanks to Jumanne and Godson!! Wir warden das Camp auf jeden Fall weiter empfehlen, vielen Dank!

Johanna and Nike, 10.09.16

 

One bad thing - our stay was just too short :( Caught our eye immediately the attention to detail in the camp. Returning to the camp after a full day of safari just feels like coming home. Thanks a lot to EVERYONE.

Chrisitina and Jan, 21.09.16

 

First time safari experience finished with thoughts of coming back! It is rare to meet a culture that cheers you up every day. We had a time of our lives! Surely we will be back.

 Patrick and Sylvia, 22.09.16

 

Aug 2016

Mdonya Old River Camp is really a great place to stay. It is a scene of wild animals crossing near the tents! The staff are very friendly and professional and the food is excellent! Thanks for everything!

Krul family, 03.08.16

 

Stunning! We’ve loved every moment and will cherish the memories. Thank you so much for your generous hospitality in this wonderous spot. There are not enough superlatives! All the staff are so kind, especially Rebecca, Andrea and our super smart guide Kahimba and his assitant Paulo. We’ve seen and learnt so much. Asante!

The Burton family, 06.08.16

 

Ruaha is absolutely amazing! We saw so much: elephants, giraffe, lions, impalas, kudu, storks, buffalo and many more. Where else on earth is this possible! The staff at Mdonya has been so welcoming, enjoyed conversations with the staff, other visitors and our guides. Learned so much about the environment as well as Tanzania. And the hot water bottles..what a wonderful touch!

Amy, 12.08.16

 

Un endroit magique! Sauvage, la naturecomme on l’aime et un accueil a’ la hauteur. Le petit dejeuner en compagnie des elephants restera un grand moment! Merci a’ Rebecca et Andrea pour le professionalisme et leur convivialite’ et l’excellente tenue du camp. Bravo a’ toute l’e’quipe.

Melina, Tanguy, Guillaume et Florence 13.08.16

 

Siamo venuti qui per cercare di scoprire l’Africa, abbiamo trovato un angolo di paradiso ed emozioni sconosciute a noi di citta’. Grazie a tutto lo staff e alle due guide, avete creato una situazione pittoresca ed emozionante. Ci avete fatto sentire dei piccoli dott. Livingstone! Grazie ad Andrea e alla dolce Rebecca ci resterete sempre nel cuore.

Silvia e Andrea 14.08.16

 

Dear Mdonya Team, we have truely enjoyed these three days at this unique destination, which is in many ways much more than ‘essential’. Unforgetable game drives, a superb cuisine and above all your great hospitality has made this a highlight of our journey! Thank you so much!!! We wish you and the animals of Ruaha all the best!

The Rogge family, 17.08.16

 

This was our first safari all family together. My kids appreciated so much the authenticity of the park, the expertise of the guides, the professionalism of the management of the camp, the beauty of the decorations, the comfort and kindness of all the service staff. Thank you for this wonderful stay.

Viken, Antoine, Laura & Alexandra, 20.08.16

 

July 2016

Thanks for such a fantastic time! Excellent service, hospitality, guiding and company (and facilities). Couldn’t fault you. All the best and keep up the good conservation work.

Alex and Collene, 05.07.16

 

Asantissima sana! It has been a great experience from the first moment! The nature, the animals we saw, the location, the food, the people, everything has been great and wonderful! Elisa and Sara thank you all for your kindness and we hope to come here soon. Very knowledgeable guide and staff. We have been very lucky too, lions and leopard, elephants and giraffes so close! Andrea thank you for the welcoming and nice stay, we very much appreciated the Italian style!  Thank you to you all, Rebecca thanks for the ‘sky tour’ and wonderful evening by the fire.

Elisa, Sara, Stefie, Sebastiano 13.07.16

 

Asante sana, we had so much fun and really enjoyed our stay from the moment we’ve been picked up from the airport to the end. Peaceful and so much attention, details, smooth. We definitely come back! Thank you.

Thuytta, Jocelyne and Esteban, 16.07.16

 

Dear camp, what a great time we had in Mdonya! Dismass and Sudi showed us so many beautiful places and animals! Every day was different and we enjoyed every trip so much. We’ve seen loads of animals and were especially happy to see lots of lions.  And then the food and your kindness made it complete! Thank you!

Vincent, Marjan, Maud and Jeroen, 19.07.16

 

June 2016

 

Thank you for a wonderful stay. Not long enough, so will have to come back again. Asante sana J

Claire, 04.06.16

 

Saw the ‘big five’! Had excellent food and Gin & Tonics. Slept in a tent with a shower and under such a clear sky that we’ve never seen before. And last but not least Rebecca and Andrea and their crew are lovely hosts. Truly awesome.

Claudia and Andreas, 05.06.16

 

A wonderful experience! Was more than we could ever imagine. Staff was so generous and everyone was well informed and educated on the wild life and animals. Wish we could have stayed for longer, but we will definitely be back. Keep up the amazing work. Until next time.

The Coopers and Dylan, 17.06.16

 

Absolutely lovely. What a wonderful setting for a camp. Great staff at the camp and great guiding.

Esther, 20.06.16